New job and mental health week

If this week is any indication of a growing mood for mental health information in Australia, it’s certainly becoming a whirlwind for me. After having one of my tweets broadcast live on the ABC’s mental health Q and A special, I got the call I’ve been waiting for this afternoon – I’ll soon be working at St George Mental Health Service as a peer worker.

My celebration was watching tonight’s premiere of Changing Minds, a three-part documentary filmed inside a mental health inpatient unit near where I live. I was a bit moved by the experience and wished there was someone to talk things over with. I realised my lived experience had somehow mutated into my hobby and career.

If that makes me a better peer worker, then great. And my recovery has been valuable enough to make it an enduring part of my life. But making a living out of an experience of illness? Surely that’s just crazy.

Leave a Reply

